Angebote zu "Herman" (16 Treffer)

The Infant in the News-Sheet als Buch von Herma...
28,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Infant in the News-Sheet:An Ode Against the Age (Classic Reprint) Herman George Scheffauer

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: 15.05.2019
Zum Angebot
The Place to Be: Washington, CBS, and the Glory...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Roger Mudd joined CBS in 1961 and rose to fame as the congressional correspondent, covering the historic Senate filibuster debate over the 1964 Civil Rights Act. Mudd was there to see Dan Rather going toe-to-toe with the Nixon White House, Marvin Kalb deciphering the State Department, Daniel Schorr bird-dogging Watergate, Lesley Stahl and Connie Chung staking out all the president´s men, George Herman presiding over Face the Nation, Bob Schieffer covering the Pentagon like a police reporter, and Eric Sevareid making what he called ´´small sounds in the night.´´The Place to Be is the story of both a unique news bureau - instrumental at the time in setting the agenda at home and abroad on issues like Vietnam, civil rights, and Watergate - and of one reporter´s passion and commitment to the pursuit of news. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Roger Mudd. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/puba/000021/bk_puba_000021_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Wreck of the Whale Ship Essex: Narrative of the...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In one of the most spellbinding accounts of men who go down to the sea in ships, the modern listener is given a seat in the whale boat of Owen Chase as he and his fellow crew and their captain make way in three boats after the wreckage of the Whaleship Essex. The account of how the Essex was wrecked inspired the infamous book Moby Dick and countless movies, including In the Heart of the Sea. The perils of sea, storms, nefarious intent of evil men, and fate combined to bring an end to a long whaling voyage - typically hard and grueling enough without suffering an attack by a furious and vengeful sperm whale. The story, told in a first-person narrative by Owen Chase, the first mate of the Essex, was first published in 1821 and served to inspire Herman Melville to write his fictional book of the attack by the whale. The perseverance and determination of the crew, mate, and captain to use each and every tool and morsel available to them in salvaging the wrecked Essex to outfit their flimsy whaleboats for a voyage of more than 2,500 miles back to the South American coast is remarkable in many ways. Every ounce of energy and civility rapidly evaporated after two months at sea. The story not told by Melville may be the best part, though the attack by the whale is still impressive if one imagines being on the small ship as the leviathan repeatedly bashes in the hull. In addition to the stirring account by Owen Chase are parts of the account by cabin boy Thomas Nickerson. Nickerson returned to the seas on whaleships following the Essex shipwreck, one of just a few known to have been sunk by a whale. After he retired to running a boardinghouse in Nantucket, Nickerson finally wrote his account of the Essex and the plight of the crew. Nickerson put pen to paper only when challenged by a visiting author. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Paul J. McSorley. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/050311/bk_acx0_050311_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
CatoAudio, September 2016, Hörbuch, Digital, 1,...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Introduction Walter Olson and Trevor Burrus on the Supreme Court´s 2015-2016 terms. Tom Palmer on ´´Freedom in an Historical Perspective´´. Susan Herman of the ACLU on protecting free speech at the RNC. Ambassador Michael Froman on why free traders should support the TPP. Rob McDonald on his new book Confounding Father: Thomas Jefferson´s Image in His Own Time. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Caleb Brown. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/sp/cato/160910/sp_cato_160910_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Manufacturing Consent
13,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Contrary to the usual image of the press as cantankerous, obstinate, and ubiquitous in its search for truth, Edward Herman and Noam Chomsky depict how an underlying elite consensus largely structures all facets of the news.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 13.05.2019
Zum Angebot
Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of...
18,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In this pathbreaking work, Edward S. Herman and Noam Chomsky show that, contrary to the usual image of the news media as cantankerous, obstinate, and ubiquitous in their search for truth and defense of justice, in their actual practice they defend the economic, social, and political agendas of the privileged groups that dominate domestic society, the state, and the global order. Based on a series of case studies-including the media´s dichotomous treatment of ´´worthy´´ versus ´´unworthy´´ victims, ´´legitimizing´´ and ´´meaningless´´ Third World elections, and devastating critiques of media coverage of the U.S. wars against Indochina-Herman and Chomsky draw on decades of criticism and research to propose a Propaganda Model to explain the media´s behavior and performance. Their new introduction updates the Propaganda Model and the earlier case studies, and it discusses several other applications. These include the manner in which the media covered the passage of the North American Free Trade Agreement and subsequent Mexican financial meltdown of 1994-1995, the media´s handling of the protests against the World Trade Organization, World Bank, and International Monetary Fund in 1999 and 2000, and the media´s treatment of the chemical industry and its regulation. What emerges from this work is a powerful assessment of how propagandistic the U.S. mass media are, how they systematically fail to live up to their self-image as providers of the kind of information that people need to make sense of the world, and how we can understand their function in a radically new way.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 13.05.2019
Zum Angebot
Bermuda: A Gripping Suspense Thriller , Hörbuch...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Headlights cut through a hot summer night along a backroad in Central Florida. The driver flicks his eyes constantly from the road ahead to the rearview mirror, his heart pounding as he expects to see the heatless glow of another pair of lights closing in on him. The driver is George Wilman, a chemical engineer from a covert facility. Well, he was. Now George is on the run.After discovering that a breakthrough water treatment project that he was developing was only one part of a sinister plan, George blew the whistle and fled. His salvation is dependent upon his wits and guile. As he heads north, his body fraught with anxious electricity, a voice speaks to him, nearly causing him to lose control. There is, however, no one in the car with George. No, the voice is coming through the emergency response system that is integrated in the vehicle. The voice urges George to return to the facility ´´for his own good.´´They know where he is. They know which way he´s headed. They can track his every move.Elsewhere we meet Herman Ingram, a cynical independent journalist who runs his own news site. For years Herman plied his trade in Washington, D.C., but disillusion swallowed his spirit and drove him out. After a cryptic call from his mentor, Herman receives a mysterious package from a town in Florida that he´s never heard of: Bermuda.Inside the curious parcel, Herman finds printouts of email conversations and project directives along with samples of a strange material. While he is initially wary of the package´s contents and its sender, things soon come to light that lead Herman to believe that the story painted by these items might be true. Driven by the desire to right a wrong from his past, Herman sets out to find the truth about just what it is that is going on in the odd little town that the package originated from.How far will these men go to shine a light into the darkness and reveal the truth? 1. Language: English. Narrator: Fred Greenspan. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/141181/bk_acx0_141181_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Fear
8,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Guardian, Daily Telegraph and Irish Times Book of the Year. ´Something we´ve not seen before in contemporary crime fiction´ GUARDIAN ´[An] uncomfortably close-to-home thriller´ SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB ´As intellectually stimulating as it is gripping´ DAILY TELEGRAPH, BOOKS OF THE YEAR 2018 ´Takes you right into the heart of darkness´ MAIL ON SUNDAY ´A must-have new read´ DAILY EXPRESS ´Wonderfully sinister´ THE OBSERVER ´Frightening´ THE TIMES ´Addictive´ INDEPENDENT ´Terrific´ JOANNE HARRIS ´Brilliantly done´ FIONA BARTON ´A great achievement´ HERMAN KOCH ´Claustrophobic and unsettling´ BBC NEWS ´[A] creepy tale of obsession´ SUNDAY MIRROR ´An unsettling tale of merciless self-scrutiny´ RENEE KNIGHT ´A terrifying study of a family threatened by the tenant living downstairs´ WOMAN & HOME How far would you go to protect your family? Family is everything. So what if yours was being terrorised by a neighbour - a man who doesn´t listen to reason, whose actions become more erratic and sinister with each passing day? You go to the police, but they can´t help you. You become afraid to leave your family at home alone. But there´s nothing more you can do to protect them. Or is there...? FEAR is a brilliantly grippling, original psychological thriller - for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL and THE DINNER. ------------------------- FEAR is translated from the German by Imogen Taylor

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 13.05.2019
Zum Angebot
Untitled: The Real Wallis Simpson, Duchess of W...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Who was the real Wallis: an opportunistic American social climber, a master manipulator or the true love of Edward’s life? Amid the cacophony of condemnation her story has become obfuscated. Untitled is an intimate biography of one of the most misunderstood women in British royal history. His charisma and glamour ensured him the status of a rock star prince. Yet Edward gave up the British throne, the British Empire and his position as Emperor of India to marry his true love, American divorcee Wallis Simpson.So much gossip and innuendo has been levelled at Wallis Simpson that it has become nearly impossible to discern the real woman. Many have wondered why, when Edward could have had anyone he desired, he was smitten with this unusual American woman. As her friend Herman Rogers said to her in 1936 when news of her affair with Edward broke, ‘Much of what is being said concerns a woman who does not exist and never did exist’.History is mostly perceived from the perspective of his-story. But what about her story? Anna Pasternak’s new book is the first ever to give Wallis a chance and a voice to show that she was a warm, loyal, intelligent woman adored by her friends, who was written off by cunning, influential Establishment men seeking to diminish her and destroy her reputation. As the author argues, far from being the villain of the abdication, she was the victim.Anna Pasternak seeks to understand an unusual, deeply misunderstood woman and the untenable situation she became embroiled in. Using testimony from their inner circle of friends, she presents a very different Wallis Simpson. With empathy, intimacy and thorough research, this audiobook will make listeners view her story as it has never been told before. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Laura Kirman. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/hcuk/004375/bk_hcuk_004375_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot