Angebote zu "Change" (81 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops [Filter löschen]

Fake News in Science and Education (eBook, ePUB)
16,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The debate over the facts is in full swing. Many people do not merely invent facts, but also feel the need to spread them. The lies and fake news that serve the cause of populism is rightly appalling. Deliberate disinformation has become a means of controlling politics and public opinion. The purpose of this book is to oppose this up-and-coming phenomenon of ´´weak thought.´´ It is a passionate plea for a new Age of Enlightenment. Scientists tend to be much more skeptical about ´´truths´´. In the process of formulating evidenced-based reasoning, undisputed facts are not deliberately hidden, but put forwards for open debate. The free expression of opinion, a free press, and the freedom of research and teaching guarantee the discussion and debate needed to argue the factual evidence in a democracy. The effectiveness of education is an important issue to consider. Learning has always been a way to deal with uncertainty. An important aspect of education in our modern world is about preparing learners to deal with change. It is a kind of preparation for the insecurity of not knowing what is coming and an openness that threatens to withdraw the proven and the validated.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 16.07.2019
Zum Angebot
The Turning Point
14,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

We live in a time of extremes. The good news is that nature gives us the key to turn the frightening Tipping Points of such extremes into life-affirming Turning Points of transformation. This book identifies the facts underlying the crises of personal, as well as global, change.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 16.07.2019
Zum Angebot
An Introduction to Conservation Biology
98,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Now fully revised and updated in its second edition, An Introduction to Conservation Biology is well suited for a wide range of undergraduate courses, as both a primary text for conservation biology courses and a supplement for ecological and environmental science courses. This new edition has been expanded and updated with hundreds of new examples, explanations, citations, and figures to enhance learning and excitement for the subject. Coverage of recent conservation biology events in the news-such as climate change and sustainable development-keeps the content fresh and current.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 17.07.2019
Zum Angebot
The Endless Beach (eBook, ePUB)
3,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Run away to a beautiful Scottish beach and let the unmissable new novel from Sunday Times bestseller Jenny Colgan heat up your summer! Dreams start here... ´Charming, made me long to escape to Mure. Total joy.´ - Sophie Kinsella On the quayside next to the Endless Beach sits the Summer Seaside Kitchen. It´s a haven for tourists and locals alike, who all come to eat the freshest local produce on the island and catch up with the gossip. Flora, who runs the cafe, feels safe and content - unless she thinks too hard about her relationship with Joel, her gorgeous but emotionally (and physically) distant boyfriend. While Flora is in turmoil about her relationship. her best friend Lorna is pining after the local doctor. Saif came to the island as a refugee, having lost all of his family. But he´s about to get some shocking news which will change everything for him. As cold winter nights shift to long summer days, can Flora find her happy-ever-after with Joel?

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 20.07.2019
Zum Angebot
The Endless Beach
8,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Dreams start here... ´Charming, made me long to escape to Mure. Total joy.´ - Sophie Kinsella On the quayside next to the Endless Beach sits the Summer Seaside Kitchen. It´s a haven for tourists and locals alike, who all come to eat the freshest local produce on the island and catch up with the gossip. Flora, who runs the cafe, feels safe and content - unless she thinks too hard about her relationship with Joel, her gorgeous but emotionally (and physically) distant boyfriend. While Flora is in turmoil about her relationship. her best friend Lorna is pining after the local doctor. Saif came to the island as a refugee, having lost all of his family. But he´s about to get some shocking news which will change everything for him. As cold winter nights shift to long summer days, can Flora find her happy-ever-after with Joel?

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 16.07.2019
Zum Angebot
Remaking a Life (eBook, ePUB)
17,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In the face of life-threatening news, how does our view of life change-and what do we do it transform it? Remaking a Life uses the HIV/AIDS epidemic as a lens to understand how women generate radical improvements in their social well being in the face of social stigma and economic disadvantage. Drawing on interviews with nationally recognized AIDS activists as well as over one hundred Chicago-based women living with HIV/AIDS, Celeste Watkins-Hayes takes readers on an uplifting journey through women´s transformative projects, a multidimensional process in which women shift their approach to their physical, social, economic, and political survival, thereby changing their viewpoint of ´´dying from´´ AIDS to ´´living with´´ it. With an eye towards improving the lives of women, Remaking a Life provides techniques to encourage private, nonprofit, and government agencies to successfully collaborate, and shares policy ideas with the hope of alleviating the injuries of inequality faced by those living with HIV/AIDS everyday.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 16.07.2019
Zum Angebot
Notes On A Nervous Planet
9,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

THE NUMBER ONE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER The world is messing with our minds. What if there was something we could do about it? Looking at sleep, news, social media, addiction, work and play, Matt Haig invites us to feel calmer, happier and to question the habits of the digital age. This book might even change the way you spend your precious time on earth.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 16.07.2019
Zum Angebot
Black Hammer Vol. 2: The Event
18,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

When a visitor from the outside world arrives on the Farm, looking for the Black Hammer and bringing news of Spiral City to its Golden Age heroes, everything changes. Her arrival stirs up old memories and awakens new hope in the marooned heroes and they make a new attempt to escape their strange prison. ? Jeff Lemire´s (Descender, All-New Hawkeye) most earth-shattering work yet! ? Indomitably illustrated by Dean Ormston (Lucifer, 2000 AD) and Dave Stewart (Hellboy) ? Dark Horse does the multiversal epic! Collects Black Hammer issues #7-11, and issue #13.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 16.07.2019
Zum Angebot
The House of Special Purpose (eBook, ePUB)
1,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

It was a long-forgotten secret buried in the past. Now it may change the course of World War II. November, 1941: Freelance news photographer Jane Todd and Scotland Yard detective inspector Morris Black are recruited by the Office of Strategic Services. Their orders are to trace an artifact rumoured to exist from the bloody days of the Bolshevik Revolution. The missing relic may hold the key to forging or destroying the balance of power in the war that is sure to involve the U.S. As the long-cold trail heats up for Todd and Black, close on their heels are a brutal Nazi assassin, a mysterious countess with a very shady past, and the lethally charming head of NKVD operations in America. Filled with actual events, historical figures, and a true-to-life atmosphere and intrigue that pull the reader in and don´t let go, perfect for fans of Robert Harris, Rory Clements and Ken Follett. Praise for Paul Christopher ´Draws tension with the skill of a surgeon´ New York Times bestselling author Michael Connelly ´A writer to watch´ New Orleans Times-Picayune ´Hyde´s storytelling is pure genius´ New York Daily News

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 16.07.2019
Zum Angebot